Find us on Facebook
Twitter Updates

North by NorthWest

Edwina Fitzpatrick with a video camera attached to a 1.7 metre helium filled balloon part of a year long experiment involving videoing forest thresholds working with the Forestry Commission in Grizedale Forest, one of several organisations working to strengthen the visual arts through North by North West

North by NorthWest (NbyNW) is a consortium of organisations in Lancashire and Cumbria who are passionate about the contemporary visual arts. Through the work of the member organisations, NbyNW engages with the Contemporary Visual Arts Network at a national level to help deliver the mission, vision and values of the wider network.

North by NorthWest was established early in 2009.

Our Mission is to support, promote and develop the contemporary visual arts in Lancashire and Cumbria.

Our Vision is a strong and vibrant visual arts sector valued by the communities we work in.

Our Values are:

  • We are sector led
  • Our projects and work are driven by the artistic activity, aspirations and specific contexts of the members
  • We are committed to being mutually supportive
  • We encourage open and honest debate, to stimulate thought about a range of social, intellectual and political issues that affect us
  • We will act as advocates for each other, locally, regionally, nationally and internationally in order to benefit the visual arts in Lancashire and Cumbria collectively

STRANGE ATTRACTORS - THE ANATOMY OF DR TULP by KMA at the Abandon Normal Devices Festival in Blackburn.

NbyNW member organisations are: 

Art Gene, Barrow www.artgene.co.uk

Forestry Commission England, Grizedale Forest www.grizedalesculpture.org

Grizedale Arts www.grizedale.org

Grundy Art Gallery www.grundyartgallery.com

Harris Museum & Art Gallery www.harrismuseum.org.uk

Abbot Hall Art Gallery, Lakeland Arts Trust www.lakelandartstrust.org.uk

Mid Pennine Arts www.midpenninearts.org.uk

Peter Scott Gallery www.liveatlica.org

Storey Gallery www.storeygallery.org.uk

Tullie House Museum & Art Gallery, Carlisle www.tulliehouse.co.uk

We have also recently welcomed the following organisations into NbyNW as new members in 2012:-

Eden Arts www.edenarts.co.uk

Green Close www.greenclose.org

In Certain Places www.incertainplaces.org 

 

Peter Scott Gallery, Lancaster is one of several organisations working to strengthen the visual arts through North by North West Photo: Roger Whitham

We are one of three Contemporary Visual Arts Network groups in the North West and work collaboratively with VAiL (Visual Arts in Liverpool) and CVAM (Contemporary Visual Arts in Manchester) to ensure co-ordinated regional representation within the National Contemporary Visual Arts Network. We also continue to engage with other individuals and organisations within Lancashire and Cumbria.

We receive funding from Arts Council England.

If you would like to register an interest in North by NorthWest, please contact our Co-ordinator, Shelley Cater-Shipway by Email – s.cater-shipway@preston.gov.uk or by Telephone on 01772 905404.

Going Home From Here by Maddi Nicholson at the KMA at the Tullie House Museum & Art Gallery one of several organisations working to strengthen the visual arts through North by North West - please click on the photo for a virtual tour of the latest exhibition Sedition